Site Menu

October 19th, 2018 1 comment

About Time 9 The Unauthorized Guide to Doctor Who

Available to order in the UK from

Available to order in the USA from

In About Time, the whole of Doctor Who is examined through the lens of the real-world social and political changes as well as ongoing developments in television production that influenced the series in ways big and small over the course of a generation. Armed with these guidebooks, readers will be able to cast their minds back to 1975, 1982, 2005 and other years to best appreciate the series’ content and character.

Volume 9 of this series focuses on Series 4 (2008) of the revamped Doctor Who starring David Tennant, as well as the 2009 Specials that finished out his era, with bonus write-ups on Music of the Spheres, the animated adventure Dreamland and The Sarah Jane Adventures story “The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith.” Essays in this volume include: “Should Doctor Who be Appointment Television?,” “How Can Anyone Know About the Time War?,” and “Why Can’t Anyone Just Die?”

Categorised under: Books, Reference books

1 comment

  • Tim M

    October 19th, 2018 - 1:03pm

    Great to see this getting released. I’m a huge fan of these books. Tat Wood does a great job of researching and reviewing each story. Hours of reading for the dedicated Doctor Who fan.


Leave a Reply to Tim M Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.

By clicking submit you agree to our terms and conditions (below), we reserve the right to edit or delete inappropriate messages.

Comment rules

The Doctor Who site welcomes constuctive comments related to the news article in question. Links posted in comments may not be displayed. We reserve the right to delete or edit any post entirely at our discretion. If you leave unacceptable comments your IP address will be banned and reported

Click here to read full comments terms and conditions