Site Menu

August 30th, 2018 no comments

Doctor Who The Five Doctors Television Soundtrack Vinyl LP

Available to order from

The Five Doctors, made and transmitted as a 90-minute special in 1983, was the 20th anniversary outing for the Doctor, seeing the incumbent Peter Davison joined by previous incarnations Richard Hurndall (standing in for the deceased William Hartnell), Patrick Troughton, Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker.

The latter declined to return in person so soon after he had left, so was represented by some footage from ‘lost’ story ‘Shada’.

The spine-chilling and atmospheric music was composed by Peter Howell at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. It was, in accordance with normal practice at the time, mixed in mono, so is presented here within a subtle mono-compatible stereo image.

In 1995, producer Paul Vanezis was contracted by BBC Video to produce a ‘Special Edition’ of the story, extended beyond the original length (as determined by the transmission slot) and featuring updated visual effects.

It was also decided to mix it in Dolby Surround (later updated to full 5.1 surround for DVD) so Peter Howell was called in to rework the music.

This is one of 8 Soundtrack LP’s due in 2017-2018. The spines will make up an image of the Tardis as seen below.

Other titles include The Invasion, Survival and The Daleks

Categorised under: CD, Vinyl records

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By clicking submit you agree to our terms and conditions (below), we reserve the right to edit or delete inappropriate messages.

Comment rules

The Doctor Who site welcomes constuctive comments related to the news article in question. Links posted in comments may not be displayed. We reserve the right to delete or edit any post entirely at our discretion. If you leave unacceptable comments your IP address will be banned and reported

Click here to read full comments terms and conditions